Closing a Position in Workday


Purpose

This document provides HR Partners (HRPs) directions on how to close a position in Workday.

Not what you are looking for? Use the button below to visit our Library and find the information you need!

Library of Workday Knowledge Base Articles

Keep in Mind

· Closing a position is a permanent change. If there is a chance the position will be needed in the future, consider placing it on hold by freezing it instead. This will stop any incoming staffing activity from occurring, until the role is reactivated or unfrozen. Please refer to the Freezing a Position in Workday Knowledge Base Article to review instructions on how to do it.

· Once a position is closed, it will be removed from the Staffing tab within the Supervisory Organization profile screen, and will appear in the Unavailable to Fill tab.

· If a job requisition has multiple positions and some of those positions need to be closed (while others still need to be filled), make sure to follow the process described in this document. DO NOT use the Close Requisition business process. Using this process is the same as cancelling the requisition, which implies that there is no intention to utilize the requisition for hiring.

· The information required to complete the process in Workday is:

· The title of the position.

· Effective date of the position close.

Steps

1. Log into Workday using your CNET ID and password.

2. Find the supervisory organization by typing in the prefix org: and the name of the supervisory organization in the search box at the top of the screen, and then press the Enter key. A list of results associated with the search criteria will populate. Select the desired result.

3. From the Supervisory Organization screen, select the Staffing tab to display open positions.

4. Find the position to close, select the Related Actions icon (the icon made of a small rectangle with three dots in the middle) to the right of the position’s name, hover over Position Restrictions and choose Close Position.

5. The Close Position screen will show up.

a. Use the Hamburger Menu (the icon with 3 dots and 3 dashes) to the right of the corresponding prompt box to select the Close Reason.

b. Enter the Close Date by using the calendar icon or typing in a date in the corresponding prompt box.

6. Select Submit. A message indicating the process has been successfully completed will pop up.

7. The position will now be listed under the Unavailable to Fill tab within the Supervisory Organization screen, in the Closed Positions section.